States Covered by the Two Depredation Orders

(2014-19)

❖ The Public Resource Depredation Order authorizes State fish and wildlife agencies, federally-recognized Tribes, and USDA Wildlife Services to take double-crested cormorants to protect fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats that are managed by public resource agencies for public benefit.

It applies in 24 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

❖ The Aquaculture Depredation Order authorizes freshwater commercial aquaculture producers to take double-crested cormorants committing or about to commit depredation of aquaculture stocks. It also authorizes the USDA APHIS Wildlife Services employees to control DCCOs at roosts near aquaculture facilities.

It applies in 13 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas.